In the last part I described some basics about what the Force is. The Force and the Holy Spirit are obviously two very different beasts, but by a brief glance at it, I can see some glaring similarities and differences.

Now to weed out some of the differences, chiefly among them in my opinion is the fact that the Force can only be harnessed by those who are deemed to be “force-sensitive” now I understand why George Lucas put that in there. It would be ridiculous is every single person was running around with light-sabers and waving their arms to throw around everything in sight. For one, it would make a terribly boring story… secondly, I doubt the galactic infrastructure could survive that much wanton destruction. Honestly I would probably only use the Force to turn off light switches from across the room and parallel park a little bit easier. I digress… obviously this isn’t how the Holy Spirit works in us. That’s some straight Gnosticism right there. There is no such thing as people who are “Spirit sensitive” and can be guided by the power of the Holy Spirit while others cannot. Our Lord is open to all. There is no special requirement for being a Christian. Heck, the most popular scripture of all time at baseball games, John 3:16 says:

“For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life.”

It uses the word “WHOEVER”, not “that those who are sensitive to the Spirit believe in Him….” That would be crazy! No, the gospel is open to everybody, not just a select few who can harness it. Though in all fairness, if Yoda was a Christian… that would be so freaking cool. Imagine that same scripture… “Loved the world for God did, His only begotten Son He gave, shall not perish whoever believes in Him shall, eternal life they will have” $1,000,000 dollar idea: the Yoda bible. Everything in Yoda speak.

Now in the next part I will talk about another issue with the comparison, if you read closely you noticed that I didn’t say “use the Holy Spirit” but “guided by the Holy Spirit” in the second paragraph. That’ll be what we’ll talk about next time.

If you have any ideas or comments, feel free to tell me! This is still a really new blog and I’m pretty new to all of this so I’d love to get some feedback on it. Thanks to all who have liked and commented on it, please get in touch with me, I’d love to hear from you about what you think and what you want to hear about!

 

