Often one of the hardest things for Christians to wrap their heads around is the Holy Spirit (Holy Ghost… whatever fits your fancy). This essential part of the Godhead seems to have very little written about it in the Bible compared to the Father or the Son. But why? The Holy Spirit is just as important as the other two and has such a big influence within the Bible, but unfortunately, it seems like the HS often goes unnoticed, like Samwise Gamgee, the true hero of the Lord of the Rings series (a topic for another time), people often seem to undersell their importance.

In Matthew 12:32 Jesus says “Anyone who speaks a word against the Son of Man shall be forgiven, but anyone who speaks against the Holy Spirit will not be forgiven, either in this age or the age to come”

That’s some pretty heavy stuff. That’s Jesus saying “Sure, say whatever you want about me; but if you say anything about my friend here, there will be hell to pay.” If the Holy Spirit is this important, why isn’t more of our faith lives focused on the Holy Spirit? I don’t know about you, but mine certainly isn’t.

“Ok Adam, I get it, this Holy Spirit thing is important, so what is it?”

Recently I was in a bible study and we were reading John 14 and trying to grasp what the Holy Spirit really is. I sat there trying to wrap my head around this incredible idea of the Holy Spirit, and finally I blurted out… “So is the Holy Spirit like the Force?” to which a long and heated discussion broke out about the rise and fall of Anakin Skywalker (a surprisingly appropriate topic). Finally the quote came to my head which sounded appropriate to me….

In the words of Maz Kanata (that alien in episode 9 who runs the smuggling den and has eyes like dried pineapple rings), “Feel it… the light, it has always been there. It will guide you”

Now isn’t that a spot on analogy for the Holy Spirit??

